Weekend Roundup


Greetings and Regards from SBGville.

Yesterday, I posted requesting that you like the SBGville Facebook page and follow @SBGville. So, yeah, that campaign isn’t working out so well. I will cheerfully remind you to do that again. I don’t intend to post links to articles here everyday in the Cup of Coffee. I hope if you like what you read here that you will support the site by at least liking it on Facebook.

I managed to get less done this weekend than I hoped for about the 1,000th weekend in a row. Well, actually, my streak isn’t that long, but I think my biggest problem with regard to this stuff is that I fail to be realistic about what I can actually do.

On Saturday, I had hoped to do some garage projects, but I neglected to account for the fact that My alma mater was playing for the FCS Championship. For some reason, I had it in my head that that game was being played at night. I headed up to St. Paul to get my hair cut (at Schmidty’s, across from Cretin Durham Hall) and I called my Dad on the way up there to see what he was doing and he informed me he was watching the game. Well, crap. I could have gotten this hair thing done earlier, but I was out running a few errands and I just didn’t get it done. Turns out that Schmidty’s had the game on, so I was watching it then. Oh, I also went to the gym on Saturday morning and did a cycling spin class that was, um, hard. The class was focused on speed, but the instructor had us working insanely hard. Awesome. She teaches Mondays at 5:30 AM. I’ll be there tomorrow morning.

When I got home, I had to watch it and darn it if it wasn’t pretty fun. So, that shot most of the afternoon. Then, I had to go to a furniture store to buy a bed railing. I was going to make it a quick trip, but my wife said that she wanted to go with. So, I took the family to the furniture store and then out to eat. We got home in time for the Vikings game, which lead to a viewing of Michael Clayton at about 9:15. I should have just watched last week and called it a season.

Today, we went to Mass and then off to the gym. My wife and I did a Simply Strength class, which was great. I really felt like I was doing well, but there was one hip exercise that really did me in. Other than that, though, I felt comparatively much stronger. My daughter did some rock climbing after that. For five years old, she’s pretty darned good and she really loves it. You wouldn’t think that a five year old girl would be interested in rock climbing, but it is one of her favorite things.

After that, we ran a quick errand and I got home and had some lunch. Finally, I was ready for the garage! But, wait. I was really tired. So, I grabbed a 20 minute nap. After that delay, I went out there. It was pretty cold out there and shortly after I got out there, my wife decided to go out and she left our daughter out there with me.

Today’s project was installing the attic door/ladder. Previously, I had framed the doorway and moved the door up into the attic. Before that, I had cut a hole in the ceiling and put in a floor in the attic and wired the attic for light and electricity. This was the final piece of that project. I had mentioned that it wasn’t going to be that difficult of a project, and it wasn’t really. It would have been easier with a helper and if my daughter would have sat still instead of standing next to the hole seemingly just to make me nervous. I had a little space heater up there for her, but she didn’t want to sit by it. But, I got the door frame in place and secured. I was worried that the ladder wasn’t long enough, but it was just long enough. I had to drill some holes in the end of the ladder to attach the feet, which I did and that was that. I now have a pull down ladder and door on the attic. I have to paint the door and put some finishing wood around the door, but that is a project for another time.

So, it’s not like I did nothing, but I wanted to get more done. Such is life.

1 comment
  1. A nice productive weekend. Since we were in the homeland over the last couple of weeks we mostly took it easy. But we still packed for our move in 3 weeks, and made lunches for the week. Also watched some football, Thundering Herd came through, Vikings and Skins didn’t, so we’ll need to find someone to root for until Feb baseball rolls around.

Leave a comment